BTC pricing is broken imho

iiznh

My first post to this forum:

Disclaimer: I own some BTC, not a lot, but enough to pay for an overseas holiday (if the price does not dive while I am typing this). Not sitting on the sidelines. I am a programmer and work in the financial (investment) industry.

My biggest problem with BTC

->The price has been fluctuating wildly simply because the way exchange pricing is done is flawed.

Let me explain: Let me compare this to buying a share like NPN (Naspers)

I buy a share, there is no half, or fraction shares, you either buy a whole one or nothing. If you sell you also sell the whole thing. Now if I could buy small fractions I could manipulate the price up (or down) with small trades with rather low risk to myself(little money). You tend to see people manipulating penny stocks like this.

BTC is priced as a whole but the price is given as the last fraction that was sold. And people get to sell/buy a very small fraction, up to 8 decimals, so you are allowed to buy 1/100000000, once a sale is made that is the "new price". So with lots of little trades the price can be manipulated up or down.

The latest price should be calculated as the pro-rata average price (weighted average) of the last complete bitcoin sold.

Eg. Let us assume 4 trades in this order (if theory this could be 1000 trades, the same idea would hold)

1/10 at $5000

4/10 at $4500

4/10 at $4000

1/10 at $3500

The current exchanges will list the price as $3500 (And everyone will panic and sell accordingly)

The price should be listed as 1/10 * 5000 + 4/10 * 4500 + 4/10 * 4000 + 1/10 * $3500 = $4250 (A small fraction bought/sold should have almost no movement on the price)