17 members have voted

1. 1. Which bank do you use?

• Capitec
    • Absa
    • Nedbank
    • Standard Bank
    • FNB
    • Other

Currently members have suggested the following banks (If you know of other, this will be the place to mention your suggestion.):

Standard Bank Society Scheme (http://www.standardbank.co.za/standardbank/Personal/Banking/Savings-and-investments/Society-Scheme)

Interest Rate (http://www.standardbank.co.za/standardbank/Personal/Fees,-rates-%26-prices/Interest-rates/Society-Scheme)

Nedbank Club Account (https://www.nedbank.co.za/content/nedbank/desktop/gt/en/personal/save-and-invest/savings-accounts/club-account.html)

Interest Rate (https://www.nedbank.co.za/content/nedbank/desktop/gt/en/personal/interest-rates/account-interest-rates.html)

Please discuss in this thread what bank account the club will use.

I'm not a banking expert, so really wouldn't know. Always just figured that the only real differences between bank accounts are interest rates and notice periods required for withdrawals :P

However, why would an account be flagged for people making deposits, it's called Just Invest, isn't that the reason for the deposits then, makes my head want to explode.

Yes, the Investment Club account is tailored for our purposes, but it gives extremely poor interest rates. Only plus side is there are no monthly fees afaik.

Okay, spoken to the lady at Nedbank.

Yes, we as a partnership qualify to open a Just Invest account with Nedbank, as we fall under Small Business Services. But we must go into a branch to open the account. (Sometimes what the sales person tells you over the phone, and what happens at a branch, is different, so we will see at that time.)

The problem here is the following:

* Minimum amount to open bank account -> R5,000

* You can make additional deposits of R500 or more at any time.